Agents for 2019 Sweetheart Pitchfest

Agents Confirmed for 2019 Sweetheart Pitchfest

Pitch your completed book to one of our great agents from February 13 - 15, 2019
Kourtney Price Headshot
Kourtney Price Headshot

Andrea Somberg, Literary Agent, Harvey Klinger Inc.

Fiction, Nonfiction, Children’s

Andrea is looking for: I am always actively looking to take on new authors who write in the following categories:  Fiction: literary, book club fiction, upmarket women’s fiction, romance, thrillers, mystery, fantasy, science fiction Children’s:  young adult, middle grade. Nonfiction: memoir, narrative, popular science, pop-culture, humor, how-to, parenting, self-help, lifestyle, travel, interior design, crafts, cookbooks, business, sports, diet, health & fitness.

About Andrea and the Harvey Klinger Inc.: A literary agent for over fifteen years, Andrea represents a wide range of fiction and nonfiction, including projects for adult, young adult and middle grade audiences. Her clients’ books have been NYTimes and USABestsellers, winners of ALA’s Alex Award, nominated for The Governor General’s Award, the Lambda Award, the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, the Ohioana Award and the VCU Cabell First Novelist Award, and named best books of the year by NYPublic Library and Book of the Month Club. She also teaches courses for MediaBistro and Writers Digest. To learn more about her and her agency, Harvey Klinger Inc., please visit her at www.harveyklinger.com and www.andreasomberg.com

Learn more about Andrea and Harvey Klinger Inc.

Kourtney Price Headshot
Kourtney Price Headshot

Cate Hart, Literary Agent, Corvisiero Literary Agency

Adult Romance, Women’s Fiction, YA

Cate’s Wish List: I am always looking for unique stories with well-crafted plots and unforgettable characters. Characters that stay with me long after the last page.

In adult romance, I look for fresh twists on familiar tropes and unique characters and the world’s in which they live and love. If you have Fantasy Romance I definitely want to see it.

In Women’s Fiction, I’d love a RomCom or a good Heist, a twist on Ocean’s 8 or Good Girls. I’d also love to find a sweeping historical in the vein of The Alice Network or The Secret History of Witches. Particular historical topics I’d love to see: WWI, The Cold War, Suffragettes. Even better from diverse and marginalized voices.

In YA, I would love a fun contemporary. I’m also looking for high concept YA Fantasy, but it really has to be unique and not derivative of everything else out there. I’d really love to find fantasy set outside of the Western European feel.

Things that just aren’t for me:

  • WF that feels like an issue book, divorce and infidelity, loss, illness, for the same reason I’m not the best agent for issue-driven contemporary YA.
  • Political Thrillers, Police Procedurals – unless it’s the next Alienist.
  • Erotica or BDSM, though I do like high heat levels in romance.  

About Cate and Corvisiero Literary Agency: Cate Hart is an Agent with Corvisiero Literary Agency, a boutique agency based in New York. She works remotely from Nashville, Tennessee and represents authors in romance as well as children’s literature. She also represents mystery, sci-fi and fantasy, and some select nonfiction.

She looks for character-driven stories, a stellar voice, and fresh, intriguing plots.

When she’s not reading queries and requested material, Cate works with clients to build their brand and platform, promote clients’ projects, and read manuscripts with an editorial eye.

Learn more about Cate and Corvisiero Literary Agency

Dawn Dowdle, Agent, Blue Ridge Literary Agency, LLC

Amish Romance, Historical Romance, Romantic Comedy, Romantic Suspense, Cozy Mystery, Mystery, Suspense, and Middle Reader Mysteries.

About Dawn: Dawn Dowdle began Blue Ridge Literary Agency, LLC (www.blueridgeagency.com) in Virginia in 2009 to help authors, especially newer authors. Prior to establishing her agency, she was a freelance copy editor. Murder at Redwood Cove by Janet Finsilver is a Cozy Mystery she represents that is a USA Today Bestseller. Recent books she represents:  Knot My Sister’s Keeper by Mary Marks, A Killing By the Sea by Kathleen Bridge, Liza’s Second Chance by Molly Jebber, Gown With the Wind by Stephanie Blackmoore, One Night With the Army Doc by Traci Douglass, K Street Killing by Colleen Shogan, The Novel Art of Murder by VM Burns, Death Overdue by Alison Brook, and Ditched 4 Murder by JC Eaton. Querying instructions on website. 

Kourtney Price Headshot

Jordy Albert, Agent, The Booker Albert Literary Agency

MG, YA, Contemporary Romance, Historical Romance

Jordy is looking for: Fun, witty middle grade, and young adult contemporary, sci-fi, and fantasy (romance is a plus). She’s also looking for smart, sexy contemporary and historical romance (Jordy definitely has a soft spot for a fantastic Regency). She’s drawn to strong, intelligent characters (snarky, but still likable). Please note that while it isn’t necessarily a deal breaker, she tends to shy away from novels with trigger topics, such as suicide and any type of abuse. Jordy is NOT accepting picture books, non-fiction or screenplays at this time. 

About Jordy and the Booker Albert Agency: Jordy Albert is a Literary Agent and co-founder of The Booker Albert Literary Agency. She holds a B.A. in English from Pennsylvania State University, and a M.A. from Millersville University of Pennsylvania. She has worked with Marisa Corvisiero during her time at the L. Perkins Agency and the Corvisiero Literary Agency.  

Learn more about Jordy and the Booker Albert Agency

Kourtney Price Headshot
Kourtney Price Headshot
Karly Caserza, Associate Agent, Fuse Literary 

MG, YA Genre Fiction

Currently Looking For: Karly has a deep love for characters with a strong voice and seeks out stories she can get lost in. Diversity in genre fiction is a major bonus. She specializes in middle grade and young adult genre fiction (fantasy, science fiction, and contemporary).
 

About Karly: Associate Agent Karly Caserza was born in the Philippines and immigrated to Northern California as a child. She obtained her Business Marketing degree and has been a Freelance Graphic Designer for over 10 years. In addition to designing a wide range of print and web promotional material for clients, Karly creates book covers for Short Fuse and promotional graphics for Fuse authors.

 
Professionally, Karly began her career in the publishing industry as a reader for Tricia Skinner at Fuse Literary. Her responsibilities quickly grew and she was promoted to Literary Assistant, a role that also included a spot on the production team of Short Fuse.
 
Karly is also the Marketing Coordinator of the San Francisco Writers Conference. In her spare time, Karly is an Adobe Technical Trainer, freelance graphic designer, Young Adult author, video game geek, and art noob.

Learn more about Karly and Fuse Literary

Kourtney Price Headshot
Kourtney Price Headshot
Kelly Peterson, Literary Agent, Corvisiero Literary Agency

MG, YA, Contemporary Romance, Historical Romance

Currently Looking For: Kelly is currently on the lookout for some strong and unique voices that can stand out in the market. She especially loves heartfelt middle grade with a bit of a magical twist (think House with a Clock in it’s Walls) or fantasy with a bit of a horror vibe (think the Thickety series). Her YA wish list is abundant, and she accepts all genres from high fantasy to historical to contemporary, but isn’t the best fit for space sci-fi. She’s especially looking for a unique fantasy with diverse characters, as well as historical tales with a bit of magic or gunslinging action. Ghosts, paranormal activity, and witches is always a plus in her book. Her adult tastes usually center around romance and fantasy, but please hold the George R.R. Martin and Tolkien vibes. Kelly is always looking for diverse voices, including LGBTQIA+ stories and authors, to represent and champion forward towards their successes. However, Kelly is not the best fit for extreme emotional turmoil, non-fiction, picture books, younger middle grade, or mystery/crime stories.
  • MG – Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Contemporary (heartfelt), Historical
  • YA – Fantasy, Sci-Fi (not space, but futuristic), Contemporary, Steampunk/Cyberpunk, Historical, Historical Fantasy
  • Adult – Romance, Fantasy
About Kelly: Kelly started out as an English teacher before eventually transferring over to the publishing industry in 2015. She’s been an agent for the last two years after being trained as an intern and apprentice with Corvisiero Literary. Since then, she has eagerly and selectively acquired her clients who are better known as The Fellowship, and is continuously looking for the right authors to welcome to the group. Born and raised in Philadelphia, Kelly strives to live up the Philly reputation of being “real” with others in the industry, and seeks to surround herself with professional and open writers who aren’t afraid to go for gold. You can find more information on her, as well as her social media, on her website at LitAgentKelly.com.

Learn more about Kelly and Corvisiero Literary

Kourtney Price Headshot
Kourtney Price Headshot

Lynnette Novak, Agent, The Seymour Agency

Adult Fiction, Young Adult Fiction, Middle Grade Fiction

Currently looking for: (#OwnVoices and #Diversity are welcome!!!)

In adult fiction: thrillers, psychological suspense, fantasy, sci-fi, contemporary romance, romantic comedy, and mysteries (traditional, amateur sleuth, and cozy).

In young adult fiction: thrillers, psychological suspense, horror, mysteries, sci-fi, fantasy, historical, and contemporary.

In middle grade fiction: fantasy, sci-fi, action/adventure, mystery, contemporary, horror, and humor.

About Lynnette: Lynnette Novak is an associate agent at The Seymour Agency and is currently building her client list.

Prior to joining The Seymour Agency, Lynnette spent seventeen years freelance editing. She worked with new writers, advanced writers, as well as New York Times and USA Today bestselling authors. Lynnette earned a bachelor of education degree from the University of Manitoba, where she specialized in English and French. She excelled in Advanced Creative Writing in university and studied writing for children and teens through the Institute of Children’s Literature. She was a Pitch Wars mentor in 2015 and 2016. Both her mentees acquired an agent. Lynnette has since closed her editing business and is excited to bring her passion for the written word to agenting.

Although Lynnette was born and raised Manitoba, Canada, she now lives in Minnesota with her husband, twin girls, and many pets. Her personal interests include reading, writing, exercising at the gym (okay, that’s a love/hate relationship), working on an assortment of crafts, all things having to do with animals (if she could own a farm, zoo, and animal shelter, she would), and enjoying time with family and friends.

She loves dark and suspenseful, mysterious twists, unique worlds, light and funny, a good love story, and lots of voice. Follow Lynnette on Twitter: @Lynnette_Novak

Find out more about Lynnette and The Seymour Agency.

How this whole Pitchfest thing works…

  • You post your three-line pitch as a comment on our blog
  • Nope, no registration is required.
  • Nope, you do not have to be a SavvyAuthors member. (But it is free…)
  • Lastly, please review the Pitch Rules before pitching.

 

Don’t miss a thing!

To receive weekly updates on this and all upcoming SavvyAuthors Events!

We add new agents and editors every week so definitely, add your name to the Newsletter list and bookmark this page.

Subscribe NOW!