I just joined. I'm taking a course about beginning the book. I'm a science fiction writer. My first conference was Romance Times. It had an excellent workshop. I did the full con the next year. It was fun and enlightening.

Good luck in your writing. Grammar help suggested changing your to you're. So much for that. :)

Reactions: 1 users
Upvote 0
Welcome @DJ Davis!

I am sorry to say that even though I am an old-timer here at Savvy, this 'site' is about a week old and we are ALL learning to navigate it.

Like @Harold said, click on the offered classes and sign up for a class. That is what gives everyone a chance to interact with instructors and students alike.

Also, there is a SIG (special interest group) on romance (Passion SIG) and it can put you in touch with other like-minded people.

I'm a moderator, so you can ask me (PM me) anything and if I don't know, I can find the one who does. :D

There will probably be other moderators and long-timers like @Lynn Shannon, @Tamsen Kaye, @RJ Garside, @Mona, and @lesliedow will pop in and welcome you.

Lyn

Last edited:
  • Winner
Reactions: 2 users
Upvote 0
Welcome @Harold!
I see that you didn't create your own thread--it's allowed here. LOL
Do post about yourself in a separate thread, so more will welcome you properly.
Lyn

Upvote 0
Welcome aboard, DJ. Like Lyn said, we're all learning this new site and doing some exploring on our own, but I highly recommend checking out the blogs. The classes offered here vary from month to month so sooner or later you'll find something that resonates with you.

When you sign up for a class, I urge you to participate. It's the best way to meet people, form new friendships, and get the most helpful feedback on your writing. We don't judge. We've all been newbies here at one point. Personally, because of the classes I've taken, I've seen a tremendous improvement in my writing style.