jeighlynn

Wordsmith
Aug 14, 2022
Texas
I've been a member for over a year, but I have been hanging back. I decided it was time to jump in. I find myself in a strange position of late. My critique group imploded with everyone going through hard times, including the death of one of our members. They have all quit writing, and I am in the process of switching genres. So I find myself without critique partners and the companionship of other writers. I miss not having other writers to talk to.

I'm an experienced writer; my first book was published in 2005. All of my publishers have since gone out of business and I've self-published my backlist. I also parted ways with my agent and I'm trying to navigate things alone. Another reason I miss having other writers to talk with, ask for advice, and compare experiences. As I said, I'm trying to branch out and write in a different genre. I am published in Romance but would love to expand and also write in the Cozy Mystery genre. My WIP is, in fact, a cozy mystery. I have not given up traditional publishers, but would really like to try my hand at more self-publishing; I find very rewarding being able to have so much control. Another reason I'd love to be able to compare notes and converse with other with more experience in self-publishing. Anyway, that is my little introduction. I'm excited about getting to know everyone and talk shop.

I looking forward to joining in some of the discussions.

Jeigh

• Friendly
Reactions: 2 users
Upvote 1